Pistachio Macaroons, Or How I got my Groove Back

Ever have one of those weeks where you realize that you have bitten off more than you can chew… in every aspect of your life?  I mean, I’m one of those people who just piles on the responsibilities and tries to do ten thousand things every day.  I live for the satisfaction of checking things off my ever growing to do list.  My Moleskine planner is never farther than arm’s reach.  I like to be busy, I like to have activities, I like following through, actually I prefer going above and beyond, when people are counting on me. And I like to have meaningful relationships, which means spending time and emotional energy on other people. I like doing all these things, I really do.  But there are times when I, like I’m sure many of you, just. hit. a. wall.  School, work, ballet, blog, family, eat, school, research study, blog, homework, school, shower, friends, school, blog, blog, research study, blog, homework, sleep, friends, blog, ballet, school, work, friends, laundry, blog.  I love it and hate it all at once.  I get overwhelmed and think that I’d like to move back to Santa Cruz, lay in the sun, work an easy job at the surf shop again, spend time at the beach, cook dinner at the same time every night and be lazy all the time.  But you know, after one week I’d be piling stuff on again and running around all over the place and volunteering myself for things I really don’t have time to do, because that’s just how I roll.  (God, can you imagine what I’ll be like once I have kids? Yikes!) But today, after a week of being a crazy girl, I’ve got my groove back.  I do a lot of things, it can get a little out of control, but I signed up for it all and I love it all. I’m lucky to have been given all these opportunities and it’d be foolish not to take advantage of them.

Wow, that got a little personal, thanks for listening.  As long as we’re on the topic of living a crazy-hectic life, here is a recipe that won’t take more than 20 minutes, only takes one bowl and your hands to make, and produces killer results every time.  Also… totally, absolutely kid friendly!

Pistachio Macaroons

adapted from Eat Make Read, who adapted from Martha

Hardware: one mixing bowl, one baking sheet, one pair of hands (preferably belonging to a cute little kid… because nothing is better than a little one with cookie batter smeared all over them!)

Go Buy This Stuff!

2 egg whites

3/4 cup sugar

2 1/2 cups shredded coconut

1 tsp vanilla

1/2 tsp almond extract

1/3 cup finely chopped pistachios

Preheat to 350 and grease a cookie sheet.

First, chop your pistachios.

Throw all ingredients into a bowl.  I mean, place them in the bowl.  Don’t be so literal!

Mix it all up extra well by squishing everything together with your hands. I love doing this.

Form little balls and plop them on the baking sheet.  These don’t change shape when they cook, so make sure they’re pretty before you throw them in the oven.

Pop those bad boys in for about 10 minutes, rotate the sheet and cook for another 3 to 5 minutes, and once they’re golden and fragrant, pull them out.

Let them cool, or don’t.

Enjoy these cookies and enjoy your life, however crazy it may get!

Published in: on April 20, 2010 at 1:27 pm  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thenakedbaker.wordpress.com/2010/04/20/pistachio-macaroons-or-how-i-got-my-groove-back/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Looks delicious! Can you make them without the pistachios or add something sweeter instead?

    • Absolutely! The pistachios can be replaced with anything you like, or removed all together without changing the consistency of the cookies or anything. Also, try drizzling melted chocolate or caramel over them to make them a bit sweeter.
      xo!

  2. This recipe sounds great! I am always super busy as weel and I do love to bake but it is hard to find yummy recipes that do not take all day. I can not wait to try this one out! Thanks!

  3. Love the photos!

  4. These can also be made as gluten-free. Love that idea! Thanks for sharing and hope to make them soon.

  5. Hi i made these last night followed to a T but the batter was very sticky, ie had to scoop not roll into balls, and when they baked all the egg white ran out and left a big sticky puddle on the baking sheet 😦

    what happened?
    flavor was nice but by the time i scraped the mess off the cookie sheet i had to chuck um, looked like a sticky coco-y hot mess.


Leave a Reply

