Fish Tacos Part 1: Guac

I looove guacamole.  Creamy and salty and citrus-y and amazing, sometimes I just want to rub it all over myself.  Is that weird?  Um, well, anyway…  It seems like there are only a few weeks out of every year when avocados are perfectly ripe, and this is one of those weeks.  Seriously, check the grocery store– they’re soft but not rotten feeling, fragrant, dark, and ready to be mashed into a heavenly dip.

I originally wanted to tell you all about these killer fish tacos I make… but as I was smooshing up the guac for them, I realized that this dip needs a post of its own.  You can make guac a ton of different ways, but I’m going to tell you right now that I don’t like hot spicy stuff, I’m a total gringa when it comes to salsa and other spicy foods.  Therefore, this guac is fresh and bright and full of flavor, just not that spicy tongue-burning kind of flavor.  Feel free to add a few drops of tapatio or chop up a jalapeno to kick it up a notch.

Go Buy This Stuff

Two ripe avocados

One lemon

One lime

Cilantro

One Tomato

Take the meat out of your avocado and place it in a medium bowl.  If you don’t know how to do this, it’s simple: slice the avacado lengthwise as best you can working around the pit.  Twist the two sides in opposite directions and they should pop apart.  The pit will be stuck in one side, so to remove it hold the avocado half in the palm of you hand and VERY CAREFULLY take a heavy duty knife and whack it into the pit.  If you whack it hard enough, the knife will get stuck in the pit and you can then pop the pit out using the knife as leverage.

So scoop your avocados into your bowl.

Next we’re going to chop up a tomato.  I like to slice the head off, then make slices perpendicular to that line, then slice across those.  This kind of makes little cubes if your ‘mater isn’t too mushy.  Does that make sense at all?

Put these in the bowl with your avocado and hit it with the juice of half a lemon and half a lime to keep the avocado from browning and to add flavor.

Let’s chop up some cilantro.  Mmm I love that smell.  Coarsely chop about a tablespoon or a little more.

Throw the cilantro into the bowl.  Sprinkle about a teaspoon of salt over everything.

Use the back of a fork to mash everything together.  Get it smooth and very well incorporated.

Add more lemon and salt until you’re satisfied.

When it’s finished, reserve about 1/4 cup for the fish tacos tomorrow, and garnish the rest with some cilantro sprigs and a lime wedge.  Best eaten on chips with a cold beer.

Check back tomorrow and get the dish on my fav fish tacos.  You know you want one.

Published in: on April 26, 2010 at 8:20 am  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thenakedbaker.wordpress.com/2010/04/26/fish-tacos-part-1-guac/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. YUMMY! I LOVE GUAC!! I actually just made some for my husband before I left on my business trip, b/c he thinks I make it better than he does. BUT, I did not have any cilantro, shame on me!!! It just doesn’t taste the same without it!! Your pictures are fabulous!!

    • Shame on you Sandy… cilantro is key! Haha! I’ve found guac is a great man-friendly treat, especially when you leave them with some salty chips and a cold brew.

  2. mmmmmmmmmm…..love it!

    I also heard that if you just leave the pit in the bowl with your guacamole the avocados will not brown as much. So…a little tip if you’re making it for the next day or something 🙂

    • Thanks Kelsey! I always thought that was just decoration… excellent tip!

  3. […] you need to make guacamole, check out yesterday’s post.  For six tacos you’ll need about half a cup, which is way less than the recipe makes, so […]


Leave a Reply

