Chewy Coconut Brownies

OMG, guys.  You have to make these.  Do you ever make something, then taste it and have a hard time believing you’ve produced something so delicious?  These could be served with some kind of interesting ice cream at a nice restaurant, or displayed temptingly in the glass case of some chic little bakery.  They are sooo good! I used my default brownie recipe from Alice Medrich’s book Bittersweet, which is seriously the best brownie recipe ever. Evvver. I think they turned out extra good this time due to the coconut addition and because I used this extra special cocoa powder from the Amazon (jungle, not website) that I’d been saving for a special recipe.

See, I have these little neurotic things about brownies… first, I feel like they should always be mixed by hand.  Seriously, who makes brownies with an electric mixer?  They’re supposed to be fudgy and gooey and whipping a bunch of air into them is kind of counterintuitive, even if it is easier on your arm muscles.  I mean, I have no evidence to support my theory that lovingly mixing the batter with a wooden spoon is any better than beating it in a mixer, but I just like it that way.  The second thing is that I like my brownies to have that nice, shiny, candy-like coating on top, and these have it. After some reading on the subject, I realized that this lovely layer is due to the extra fat in the recipe, so think about that as you’re reaching for your ninth brownie in a row. I had a bag of dry, shredded coconut laying around, so I decided to mix some in and sprinkle some on top, and let me tell you… that really took these brownies to a new level, and I don’t even like coconut all that much!

I know, enough gushing already.  Here’s the recipe.

Chewy Coconut Brownies

very slightly adapted from Alice Medrich’s Bittersweet

Go Buy This Stuff!

2 1/2 sticks unsalted butter

2 1/2 cups sugar

1 1/2 cups cocoa powder (USE A GOOD QUALITY COCOA! IT REALLY MATTERS!)

1/2 tsp salt

1 1/2 tsp vanilla

4 cold eggs

1 cup flour

1 cup (plus more for sprinkling) shredded coconut

Preheat to 325.  Line a 9×12 pan  with foil or parchment, leaving about five inches of overhang on two opposing sides (this will help you remove the brownies from the pan painlessly).

In a large bowl, place butter, sugar, salt, and cocoa.

Place the bowl in a large skillet of barely simmering water.

Stir occasionally until the butter melts, the ingredients are completely combined, and the temperature is just hot enough that you can only stick your finger in for a second before having to pull it back out.

It will be shiny.  Let the mixture sit for a couple minutes and cool off.

Stir in vanilla.

One at a time, and beating vigorously after each, crack in your eggs.

Gradually mix in the flour until completely incorporated.

Beat with a rubber spatula or wooden spoon 40 times.

Stir in coconut.

Spread in your pan, and sprinkle the top with coconut.

Place in the bottom third  of the oven and bake for 25-30 minutes, rotating half way through.

When finished baking, switch your oven to broil, move the brownies to the top third of the oven, and toast the coconut on the top.

Let cool.  Using the excess foil, pull the brownies out of the pan and cut into squares.  Separate.

Eat several.

Preferably dipped in milk.

Yum.

Published in: on May 4, 2010 at 12:07 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thenakedbaker.wordpress.com/2010/05/04/chewy-coconut-brownies/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I really appreciate how you break everything down with pictures. I am way older than you, LOL, but really enjoy your blogs and hopefully your recipes. Thanks for sharing. Looking forward to trying them all.

  2. Have you ever tried these with a gluten-free flour? I have Celiacs Disease and can’t have wheat, oats, rye, or barley flour. Thanks.


Leave a Reply

